Welcome to the Midwest Cognitive Science Conference 2024

The full conference program is now available here.

Conference Location: Baker Center at Ohio University, Athens, OH

Conference Dates: May 9th through May 11th

Workshops and Reception: May 9th

Submission Due Date: April 1st

Decision Letters: By April 11th

Regular Registration Due Date: May 1st (we accept late registrations, but you will not be able to attend the banquet dinner, and we cannot guarantee your lunch)

Contact: CognitiveScience@ohio.edu

Conference Director & Organizer: Ronaldo Vigo, Ph.D. | Logistics Coordinator: Cody B. Ross | Public Relations Coordinator: Abigail Bartlett | Media Coordinator: Raghvendra Singh Yadav

Keynote Speaker

For our keynote speaker, we are excited to welcome Aaron S. Benjamin, Ph.D., from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

Aaron Benjamin is Professor and Acting Head of Psychology at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, where he also holds appointments in the Program in Neuroscience and at the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. His research applies behavioral and computational approaches to basic and applied problems in human memory, attention, metamemory, decision-making, and human-technology interaction.

Benjamin received a BA in Psychology and in German from Carnegie Mellon University in 1991, where he worked with Kenneth Kotovsky and Herbert Simon. He received a Ph.D. from the University of California, Los Angeles in 1998, where he worked with Robert Bjork. From 1998 until 2001, he was a postdoctoral scholar at the University of Toronto, where he worked with Fergus Craik. Since that time, he has been at Illinois, where he directs the Human Memory and Cognition Laboratory.

He is the current Editor of the Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, a past president of the International Association for Metacognition, a recipient of the James McKeen Cattell Sabbatical Award, a recipient of the Psychonomic Society Mid-Career Award, and he is a Fellow of the Psychonomic Society, the Association for Psychological Science, the American Psychological Association, and the Society for Experimental Psychology. He has served on the Board of Scientific Affairs at APA, on the Council of Scientific Society Presidents, and on the Governing Board of the Psychonomic Society, where he was Chair in 2017.